Fuel Capacity and Tuning Components

• Thread starter chrisco84
  • 23 comments
Australia
Brisbane
chrisco84
I am currently doing the WTC800 races and beat Daytona in the Mazda Stealth pretty easy.

I got an invite for the Pagani Huayra '13 last week and purchased it, I hadn't really driven it much as I was playing Sport dailies and finishing the GR3 Cup races.

So I figured I would tune up my fresh new Huayra as I paid a pretty penny for it (thanks FOMO) and use it in the 800 series.
I tuned it 760+ quite easily and was ready to go. Entered Daytona 10 lap race and it is a rocket, love it BUT -
The fuel consumption makes it near on impossible to win, I can get 4 laps out of it on 6 lean. So I have to pit twice.

I am new to tuning but am loving the learning curve.

My questions (remembering I am a total noob in tuning):

• Is there a way to check fuel consumption out of race? Even if I could compare it to my GR3 cars would give a general idea.
  • Is there a way to see which tuning parts, or do any, affect fuel consumption? (I assume turbo etc would)
  • Are there settings on the tuning sheet (I'm guessing aerodynamics) I can adjust to improve fuel consumption, and would someone explain those like I am 5 if so?
  • Do different tyres affect fuel consumption?

I understand short shifting to limit revs and save fuel (only just learnt this), are there any other on track tactics?

Just to save me 100k of tuning up my other non GR cars for longer races really.

I appreciate in advance.

I don't see any information about fuel capacity for every car.
I just don't understand why one car have fuel for 3,5 laps and another for 5,1 laps.
For example two cars:
Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR (setup: 512hp, 944kg) - 3.5 laps in Sardegna (fuel economy 1/6)
Nissan GT-R GT500 '08 (setup:524hp, 1114kg) - 5.1 laps in Sardegna (fuel economy 1/6)