Getting very frustrated with GT4...

• Thread starter kevin134
  • 28 comments
I'm a new GT4 enthusiast. I've grown addicted to the challenge inherent in this style of racing game, having only played arcade-style games in the past. However, that's led me to have a lot of trouble adjusting to GT4. I practice and practice, but I still hardly improve at all. Faster times seem more the product of luck than skill. Specifically, I'm absolutely horrible at cornering. I can never seem to follow 1) guides on getting through corners and 2) the appropriate lines. I typically veer far off the line during a license test and struggle just to get a bronze medal. Is there a way I can practice corners and see some real improvement? I want to start enjoying this game, but now it seems I'm simply obsessed with the challenge.

Well practice is all you can do. When I started playing GT4 I was like you. In the other day I was faster in an 60-ish BHP Nissan Be-1 than three years ago in a Nissan 350z roadster. All I did was practice. The license tests help a lot. You could also watch some videos to see other people racing lines.
And by the way, welcome to :gtplanet:

Last edited:
Thanks :) Yeah, the license tests are what's killing my confidence in this game. I'm struggling just to get silver medals on the B license tests.

The first few B tests are a bear to master if you're an automatic DS2 user. I'm just now starting to use the sticks for launch control, and I'm turning my automatic into a manumatic. That might help a bit...

I'm driving manually on a DS2. Would it help to pick up a cheapo racing wheel? I don't have the cash for one of the Logitech wheels (I don't want to spend more than $50 on a wheel).

Also, I'm stuck on B5 (the guided lap run on Tsukuba circuit in a Mini one) so I went and bought the Mini and I'm going to just run lap after lap after lap.