I'm not a sensible one and still want to learn

• Thread starter KAlex122
  • 2 comments
Austria
Austria
KAlex122
Hi,

I'm a half-decent driver - not on GTPlanet alien level by far but i gold about 2/3 of the online Time Trials with relatively little effort on controller with automatic transmission. Call it a higher B-rated driver if i would still play online.

In the past i tried tuning myself once or twice but with little success.

I'm now reading all the tips i found here from you guys that i bookmarked in the past 2 years and watch a lot of YouTube videos on that matter. The theory should be there soon.

My problem is, that when i drive i feel relatively little of what i change. I'm kind of an unsensible driver. I drive AT, as i stated and i drive mostly with the audio muted so i can hear our youngling (no, I won't get used to driving with one single in-ear-plug).

Some questions on that matter:
  • Will the lack of audio be a problem for feeling the tuning changes (tire squeal)?
  • Will AT give me less feedback when tuning? Not sure about that. But for the moment, at least as long as I'm driving without audio, i won't change to MT.
  • I have controller sensitivity on 10 but the trigger effects on low (and in the PS settings also low) as i find high to strong. Will that again hinder me feeling what's going on?
  • What kind of car is best to learn tuning? I'm a bit more into roadcars, than racecars. I imagine a FR cars with about 550-580 PP (with no better tires than SH to not dampen the effects of understeer/oversteer) with no other aids than ABS (on strong?) could be a good start?