Question for manual drivers...

• Thread starter SndyDrver
  • 84 comments
I drive a 2nd hand jetta Mk.4 manual, its my first car and I have been driving it for 3 years lovingling, its has come to my attention an oddity of a trend...

When I have handed it over to someone to drive (aka dealership or friend) they always left the car with the shifter in gear and the parking brake down. Is it just me or am I being a square and playing it safe:

My rule of thumb: When a driver turns off the car, gets out of the seat closes the door, he/she must put it in neutral and the parking brake up, otherwise the car will roll and or have its trans slight worn/stressed or destroyed.(hence the lever's name E-brake, Handbrake, Parking brake)​

P.S. to moderator: by 100 posts you can close this thread as enough people will have answered my thread in their various points of views and opinions.

I know!!!! ok. calming down now. yeah, several times i've let someone drive my truck, and every time they park it they never set the parking break but rather leave the transmission in first to keep it from moving. I never do this. i'm just like you i always put it in neutral and set the parking break so it's fairly aggrivating. but to make it worse, whenever they do that, the next time i go to get in it the gear shift will have become lodged into first and i have to give it a good tug to get it to move. it cant possibly be good for it and i dont know why people do this.

its all natural habit. whatever you feel is better. personally i think the e-brake cable gets stressed more than your transmission coggs in everyday use. the engine will turn over long before any mechanical shearing takes place.

if your not on a hill, i say leave it in gear. preferably a taller gear to reduce moving potential by requiring large amounts of torque to budge.