So I found this old 70's BMW...

• Thread starter hawkeye122
  • 15 comments
United States
California
gdwest1
So, I graduated High School! Go me. As a friendly gesture, my parents swapped me cars- My Tracker for their 2001 Camry!

To be honest, it's a great car. It has no glaring deformities, and based on my knowledge, will probably run for another 100k miles (Currently 192k). My parents bought it new, so I know it's been reasonably well maintained. Unfortunately, I know the clutch is nearing the end of it's life- If I shift poorly it slips a little bit under moderate acceleration. This job is usually around $800, which for me, is a lot.

I'd love to get a new car, but it would have to be within my price range of 2-3 thousand dollars. I get this based on the sale of the Camry (~2500?) in addition to my graduation money and final paycheck from my job (Work for a Middle School, so I'm not currently working. But am looking for a job, and have a pretty good lead)- Totaling about $1000. My birthday is also approaching (the 27th).

Since most of my friends are leaving, and I'm going to a JC, I really dont need a 4 door, but it sure is alot nicer to have some space.... In terms of Fuel Mileage, I'd love to get better than 25 MPG routinely. Also, I autocross once every month or 2, so something which is dynamically well-off would be good.

I searched for a Miata locally, and none were really in that great of shape, so I looked elsewhere.

I'm quite a BMW fan, and found 3 that were fairly close to me-
http://redding.craigslist.org/cto/3827434471.html
http://redding.craigslist.org/cto/3855922636.html
http://chico.craigslist.org/cto/3790713360.html

I cant help but cringe when I look at the first one, it's been riced with the blacked-out lenses. But thats hoenstly just cosmetic stuff, and I can deal with that.