Your Guitar stories/Past, present, and future.Music 

• Thread starter oopssorryy
  • 2 comments
oops_sorryy
This is a thread to talk about the guitars you had, and the good and bad times you've had with them, along with your guitar plans for the future.

Past
I'll start first, I have been playing for four years and have played a couple shows in public, but no bands. I first started taking lessons with my acoustic Indiana Scout. it's a good guitar but acoustic guitars weren't going to cut it with what my guitar teacher had in mind, so I picked up a Epiphone SG Special, and while she's the cheapest model Epiphone offers I wouldn't trade her for the world.

Present
My SG has gotten the custom treatment, and is still in the process of getting modded. I have set her up personally and she'll bend better than just about anything, that's the key with anything Epiphone and Gibson, you have to set them up or they'll play like crap! And she has new tuning keys, and wiring. My acoustic is getting modded right now, as I'm shaving the nut and bridge to lower the action and make her more player friendly, and less of a slide guitar.

Future
I plan on gutting the SG, and getting two covered Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz (Neck) with a SH-1 '59 (Bridge) and custom installing a SSl-1 Vintage Staggered pickup in the center. The humbuckers will be wired so they have coil split capabilities (pull up on the tone knobs) and the center single coil will be given a kill switch. I am also planing a custom install of a 5 way strat style switch and a second tone knob (Epiphones SG Specials only came with two knobs, one for volume and one for tone).

I know I could get a whole new Gibson for the money and work I'm putting into this guitar, but she's my baby and I'd rather make her better than buy a new one, and have to set up a whole new guitar that'll still have issues (to me).

Now it's your turn!

Where to start?