Is it ever quicker to drift a corner?

• Thread starter ikarys
  • 44 comments
ikarys
I know all my fast laps generally have as little sliding as possible.

If so, what type of corners, and what drive trains?

I'm no expert, but it might also depend on car. Maybe some of the understeery cars might benefit from making them drift in the corner? Also older race cars seemed to drift quite a lot but that might be just because the tire technology of the time.

I've heard, drifting and using the handbrake a bit in very tight - 180° or so - corners in Rallies is the quickest way, they are all doing it for that reason. F1, JGT, DTM, LM and other series avoid it. It looks great and spectators love it, but it makes you slow.

It can be faster under the right circumstances. I've personally seen some very fast autocross cars that spend a generous amount of time sideways. In general I'd say:

Drifting is usually most beneficial in slower, tighter corners.

It usually works better on cars with no downforce and poor grip.

The key to a fast drift is zero countersteer. That means keeping the wheel more or less straight and steering the car mostly with the throttle. If you're applying huge amounts of countersteer Formula D style then you're probably losing time.

Depends on the car/surface. I find its quicker to drift my stock Lotus Elan(small angles of course). This is because the car will slide quite easily, you have to drive quite slowly to prevent the car sliding, so I just let it drift(the handling is fantastic, I think the best in GT5)

edit: ^as above. Maybe small amount of opposite lock:)

Now that i think about it it is beneficial to let the car slide slightly. The tires get the max traction within their optimal slip percentage and angle (according to Speed Secrets this is usually in the range of 3-10% and 6-10 decree angle but i imagine this depends on the tire). I wouldn't call that drifting though as that conjures imeges of cars going in wide showy slides.