Shaving

• Thread starter emad
  • 54 comments
eMadman
I've been shaving for about 5 years now and have progressed from those disposable bic razors through to the Mach 3 to the Schick Quattro and on to the Gillette Fusion. I've had a stint where I shaved my head daily and even played with electrics for a while.

Lately, I'm starting to find that my morning shave is getting to be more and more an important part of my daily routine. It wakes me up, I feel refreshed, and frankly, I love the feel of a nice lather and a razor going over the beard.

I switched to non-aerosol shaving creams (Art of Shaving, The Shaving Company, etc) and fell in love with shaving all over again. Something about the lack of harsh chemicals, the super slick lather, and the wonderful scent of the cream - just awesome.

I would love to shave daily but have to go every second day because these multi-bladed razors are pretty bad. They feel okay, but the more I use them, I find myself suffering from razor burn and uneven shaves. I shave in 3 passes - with the grain, across the grain, and finally against. That's 5 blades sliding across my face for 3 strokes. That's 15 strokes with a single-blade :scared:.

To make it worse, spending $3-5 for a single cartrige provides a barely acceptable shave for only 2-3 weeks is pretty damn expensive. Especially knowing that these blades are noticeably bad after the first 3-4 shaves.

Enter: The Wet Shave.

To hone my love for shaving in the morning further, I have purchased a straight razor. This particular model is a new-old-stock razor from Cold War era Poland. I have it at home now and i'm waiting on a strop so I can prep it for my first shave with this beast.
2514631535_3175886833.jpg

To give you an idea, I ran a hair over this and it sliced right through with no pressure. The very idea of this blade being used to reduce my beard down to the bare skin is unbearably awesome. I can't freaking wait.