Can anybody explain F1 pre-race rules to me?F1 2010-2016 

• Thread starter RTDude1981
  • 9 comments
Hey guys,
I am new to F1 racing, just picked up the game a couple weeks ago and I love it.

However, I am having a hard time understanding the pre-race stuff...the Qualifying, Flying Lap, Drive Out (?), I think that's what it's called...I did like 15 laps at Australia and it seems like the race doesn't end. What is the purpose of doing all those laps? Is it to get a starting position in the race? What is the difference between short and long weekends, and what are the purpose of doing those laps before the race? I noticed there is a timer that counts down...am I supposed to keep doing laps until the timer expires?

Can anybody explain these to me please? I am not doing career yet, just doing Grand Prix to get familiar with things. I am not looking to win as of yet, just learn the tracks and get familiar with F1 rules.

I got F1 2011 after doing the FGT in Gran Turismo 5 and got hooked. Never got into F1 racing until now and I am totally loving the cars and tracks. Thanks in advance.

Read this:

F1 Practice and Qualifying, Rules and Regulations

A couple of points: First, keep in mind that whatever tires you qualify with, you will also start the race with, so wait until the track is clear and you can set your best time with as few laps driven at full pace in qualifying as possible. In other words, during qualifying get your best time in with as few laps as possible and get back to the garage to save your tires for the race. This also applies to practice sessions, to a degree. I would stick with prime tires during practice and save your options for the race, since the option tires have much more grip and are a lot faster. If you have your car set up to handle well with primes, it will certainly do well with options.

F1 Tire Rules and Regulations