need help with VW bug settings

I just got the Gran Turismo game for Playstation 2 last week. I am not really an expert with playing it and need some help with a small problem. I got the regular VolksWagen bug in the game and added all the available upgrades to it but now it will not go. I don't know what I did wrong. I just wanted it to go real fast so I added all the extra stuff but now when you hit the "gas" it just sits there and will not go. If the car is on a level spot of the road then when you keep pressing the gas button it will eventually kick into gear and start driving after about two minutes but then it stops going faster than about 80 or 100 MPH even though the specs for the car has it at over 275 horsepower and if you stop then you can't get it to go again. If the road is not level then the car just slowly rolls backward at 2 MPH and will not go forward at all. How should I adjust the settings to make it go? I have tried all different settings of gears and torque but can not seem to get it fixed. I even tried switcing back to original parts where that was allowed but got no change.

Thanks for any help with this :embarrassed:)

Should be in the Settings forum, but... :D

It sounds like you're a) running automatic gears and b) screwed up the gearbox. Switch back to the "normal" gearbox (and press "X" for OK, not "triangle" for go back) and drive it again. It should go somewhere... :D

The original gear settings for the VW Beetle 2.0 GSi (in PAL) are:

Final Drive: 4.240 (set this first)
AutoGear - I don't have data for this. Try 32.
1st: 3.780
2nd: 2.120
3rd: 1.360
4th: 1.030
5th: 0.840

If the individual gear ratios don't go to these numbers, I got the AutoGear wrong :D. If they're too high, AutoGear is too high etc.

Setting these values ought to remedy the problem. SAVE THESE SETTINGS before you play about again - then you can restore them if it all goes Bug-shaped.