Do you enjoy reading?

• Thread starter Barracuda
  • 149 comments

Do you enjoy reading?

• Total voters
Boss-Barracuda
During the past couple weeks I caught the reading bug and have been reading any chance I get. I tried to get interested in reading a while ago by reading From a Buick 8, but recently reading Christine has gotten me very interested. I'd seen the movie before but the book is so much better and quite different (If they made the movie exactly like the book I'm sure it would be rated R)

Yesterday I brought Christine back to the school library, but still interested I picked up Misery. So far I'm at page 47 and it is already really good. I plan on reading The Shining next because I've heard it is really good, I can't wait.

(all the books mentioned above were written by Stephen King)

So do you enjoy reading? If so who is your favorite author, and book.

I'm studying to teach English in high school, so I guess I had damn well better enjoy reading, and I do.

My all time favorite author is definitely Kurt Vonnegut Jr. Despite some pretty overt symbolism in some of his books, I love the way that he writes, and he never fails to inject his unique sense of humor into each and every one of his books. My favorite book by Vonnegut is definitely Breakfast of Champions but there are so many others that I love, including:
The Sirens of Titan
Player Piano
Timequake
Welcome to the Monkey House

John Steinbeck is another favorite of mine, he's written so many great books in his time. Including my two favorite books by any author, Cannery Row, and its sequel, Sweet Thursday. Both take themselves less seriously than other Steinbeck novels such as The Grapes of Wrath, but at the same time they are incredibly heartwarming and funny stories about a group of bums and the slums around them in Monterrey, California.

Some other favorite authors of mine include: Isaac Asimov, Ernest Hemmingway, Hunter S. Thompson, JD Salinger, and so on.

I can't stand Stephen King though.