High end headphones - Suggestions?

• Thread starter Michael88
  • 73 comments
Austria
Nicest part of hell
Let me explain....

So yesterday I went to the electronics store with 150 bucks in my pocket to replace my old Sony MDR-XB300 earphones (which are falling apart due to age and wear) with new high quality stuff. I'm by no means an audio expert but I know the basics and I know quality when I hear it.

And boy, all the new gaming headphones I tested sounded like utter crap compared to my old ones, I fiddled around with the windows sound settings for hours but I couldn't improve the sound quality at least a tiny bit.Same problems on different computers with different OS's.
What especially annoyed me was that the audible difference between low and high sounds was very little with the new headphones, it made music sound really washed out and monotonous, it almost sounded like I was listening to music underwater, no sound clarity whatsoever. :ill:
The only good thing they had was teeth rattling bass, but thats pretty much it.

Brought 'em back and tried other ones, same problems. :grumpy:

I switched back to my old cheap-ish headphones and wow, what a difference; but I still have to replace them.
Whats going on? Any suggestions?

Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro
AKG K240
Grado SR80i
Audio Technica M50

All great headphones in the $75-200 price range.

Agree with above.

What type of music are you listening to? That will help narrow it down a bit.

Sennheiser HD-25, Ultrasone HFI-580 or M50's. But if you can live with having an open-back headphone, Fischer Audio FA-011 are amazing with a decent amp.

Why not just upgrade to the XB-500's. If you liked the 300s you will love the bigger version lol

I personally have the XB-1000's