I need help racing in traffic

• Thread starter Bullwinkle
  • 63 comments
United States
United States
Grand_Slammin
I'm new to racing and have been doing a lot of hot laps to try to get better. I dove into online racing last week and I'm a D/S driver at this point, usually starting around P10 or so in races. Although I managed to finish P3 a few days ago, usually what happens is that I get punted off the track in lap 1 and right out of the race. I have to struggle to get back into the race and get back to my original position, usually after the jerks rage quit and clear out of the race.

Here's what I've been able to figure out so far, and some concerns I have, and the questions that follow:

• Starting position matters. When I start higher up, I usually do better. I'm guessing because I'm shielded from the dive-bombers by the intervening cars behind me.
  • People say it gets better in with higher rated racers. Based on my ruined races (which I do go ahead and finish) I don't know how to improve my driver rating. I'm guessing podium finishes or some such thing matter, but how in the world can I ever improve my driver rating when I'm usually getting punted right into last place? How will I ever get to race with the better drivers?
  • It seems that, due to the "penalty" system, it's more cost effective to just punt everyone in front of me and do my 3 second penalty, leaving them far behind in the gravel trying to sort themselves out.